Todd's blog

Dig, Badger, dig!

Recently, I set about problem solving the re-structuring of my technical consulting business. The work consisted primarily of two parts, figuring out:

(1) “The me,” e.g., what I really like to do in my work, how I like to work, who I like to work with, etc. (2) “The them,” e.g., identifying target clients, their needs and pain points, what they get from what I do, etc.

After much introspection, I transcribed my various thoughts onto pages for each of these topics. Next, I set about connecting “the me” and “the them.”

What I thought would be a straightforward exercise turned into an intellectual struggle. I grew increasingly frustrated trying to create a seamless and cohesive plan, largely based on previous patterns developed over years of working with clients.

Yet, since I’m a diligent and hard worker (didn’t say smart worker), I ignored the frustration and pushed on. Surely, I must not be looking hard enough for the connection that would transform my business.

Like a determined badger digging after a ground squirrel, I dug harder trying to blend these two perspectives into a coherent strategy that made sense to me. All the while, my enthusiasm was waning, my mood was souring, I was agitated.

Even that didn’t stop me from trying again after a night’s rest, intended to clear the cobwebs and make apparent the “missing piece” I’d overlooked. Again, more and growing frustration, angst even.

Finally, and fortunately(!), the Universe threw me a lifeline. Like a tree root in my badger hole, I received an email blast out of the blue from a trusted advisor. The simple wisdom she related was like a “I could have had a V8!” bonk on the forehead. Why hadn’t I thought of that?!

The point of my frustration was to signal that this task was not in alignment with what I was trying to create. I didn’t really want to relaunch this business in the first place! I was working very hard on a task, the results of which I didn’t sincerely want.

The purpose of emotional energy is to guide us into activities that magnify our sense of peace and creativity. Conversely, it can also act like a wake-up call, like a nagging splinter, drawing our attention to situations that don’t serve us or reflect our authentic selves.

So, note to self: check in with your feelings during the course of your work. Ask: is this work aligned with what I want? If you’re frustrated, take a moment to feel into what you’re doing, and see what response appears. Always seek creativity and flow!